Have you ever wondered what vegetables start with the letter Q? Yes? Same! Unfortunately, there aren’t as many vegetables that start with Q.
There aren’t as many vegetables that start with Q. Quinoa was the only vegetable we could find. A lot of articles are misleading and include fruits in this category of vegetables that start with Q.
The Term Vegetable
The term “vegetable” is a culinary term that generally means any plant part that is cooked and eaten as part of a meal.
However, the exact definition of “vegetable” can vary depending on who you ask. In some cases, the word may be used to refer to any plant-based food, regardless of whether it comes from a fruit, root, stem, leaf, or flower.
Others may define a vegetable as any edible plant part that is not a fruit or seed. This would include mature fruits that are eaten as part of a main meal.
Meanwhile, some people may also consider edible fungi and seaweed to be vegetables, even though they are not technically parts of plants.
Ultimately, the term “vegetable” is a broad category that can mean different things to different people.
Classification of Vegetables
Vegetables can be classified according to the part that can be eaten, some vegetables fall into one or more categories when many parts of the plant are edible e.g. both the root and leaves of a carrot can be eaten.
The following groups of vegetables are made according to these classifications:
roots (carrots, turnips, parsnips),
bulbs (onions, garlic),
stems (celery, fennel),
leaves (spinach, cabbage),
flowers (courgettes, broccoli),
fruits (tomatoes, peppers) and
seeds (peas, beans).
List of Vegetables That Sart With Q
Here is the list of veggies starting with the letter Q!
More on Vegetables That Start With Q
Quinoa is a pseudocereal that comes from the Chenopodium family of plants—a group that includes other grains such as millet, buckwheat, and barley. Its botanical name, chenopodiium, comes from the words for goosefoot and barley, a reference to the curved shape of the seeds. Quinoa is gluten-free so it’s not recommended for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, although most people with these conditions can avoid it without any problem. People with coeliac disease, however, should still avoid barley.
That’s all for now! You saw it for yourself, there aren’t as many vegetables that start with Q. Be sure to comment down below and let us know if we missed any of the vegetables. As always, thanks for reading!