Are Smarties Vegan?

Is It Vegan? This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy

Many of you have probably wondered about the ingredients in smarties, and whether or not are smarties vegan.

Are Smarties Vegan

Whenever you hear of the name smarties, the first thing that will ever come into your mind is that gift with tubes that you might have received as a child.

However, one of the most peculiar things about Smarties, produced by Smarties Candy Company, is that some of its brands are vegan.

While the ingredients in the original candy make it seem like it’s not vegan, the company who makes smarties has confirmed that it does allow for the possibility that its candy is vegan, by saying that it’s difficult to tell if any of its ingredients are derived from animals.

That’s because “they cannot determine if any of the ingredients are from animals as they may come from suppliers who themselves don’t know if the ingredients come from animals or plants”.

Read on to find out everything you need to know about smarties and the available vegan options in the market. Besides, we will also provide you with insight into some of the available assortments.

Are Smarties Vegan

Smarties: Are They Vegan?

The answer to this question is yes and no. It all depends on the type of ingredient and flavors they use.

Unfortunately, the majority of Smarties in the market are not vegan. This is due to the presence of dairy products, such as milk, in the chocolate treat.

See also  Are Gardettos vegan?

Smarties’ top ingredients include:

sugar

milk

polyricinoleate

wheat flour

modified cornstarch

lactose

cocoa butter, and

artificial colors.

Even so, this does not mean that you cannot find vegan options. Smarties Candy Roll is one of the best options that are vegan. It is entirely free from fish, meat, dairy, and eggs.

This option makes it an ideal product for anyone looking for delicious vegan candy. However, it is advisable to check the label to verify the ingredients before you purchase the product.

Artificial Colors and Flavors

As mentioned earlier, flavors might also determine whether your Smarties are vegan or not. There are two types of flavors. You can decide to go with the artificial flavor or the natural way.

Note that artificial colors might be a questionable ingredient due to its periodic testing.

Are Smarties Vegan

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors, on the other hand, are the best option mainly because they are extracted from plant-based sources. Animal-based ingredients are also used, which makes it necessary to check the label before considering to purchase.

According to FDA, oleoresin, essential oil, distillate, hydrolysate, extractive or essence, or any product of enzymolysis, heating or roasting, which has the flavoring constitutes derived from a fruit, spice, or vegetable or fruit juice, vegetable, bud, herb, leaf, edible yeast or similar plant material, seafood, meat, dairy, poultry, dairy products thereof, whose vital function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.

Final Thoughts

Technically, many vegans are comfortable with the type of ingredients used in Smarties. It all depends on the kind of vegan you are and the reason for consuming the product.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

If you liked this recipe please do share and leave a comment down below. We would love to hear how you made it even tastier!

Bon Appetite ! Signing out