Are onion rings vegan? That depends. Some onion rings are made with onions, oil, and a batter, and therefore are vegan. However, other onion rings are made with onion powder and don’t include any actual onion, making them non-vegan. To make things more complicated, some onion rings use animal products in the batter, like egg or milk, while others don’t.
As one of the most popular snack foods in the United States, onion rings can be found in almost every supermarket or fast-food restaurant. They are offered in different flavors such as Funyuns onion flavored rings and Alexia crispy onion rings.
However, can vegans enjoy this cuisine? Read on to find out whether onion rings are vegan and some of the available alternatives you can try.
Table of Contents
Do Vegan Onion Rings Exist?
Finding a vegan onion ring will depend on several factors such as the type of restaurant. Technically, eggs and buttermilk is the main ingredient in creating the onion rings with their crispness. Besides, they can also be deep-fried in animal fat, which makes it a non-suitable option for vegans.
Ensure you always check the menu or enquire whether the onion rings are vegan or not. Among some of the restaurants where you can find vegan onion rings include Pizza Pizza’s, Sonic, FatBurger, or Pizza Hut. Besides, they can also be found in the majority of supermarkets.
Homemade Vegan Onion Rings
If you want to be sure that what you eat is 100% vegan, you should consider preparing it yourself. Luckily, making vegan onion rings is quite easy. All you need to do is purchase the required ingredients. It allows you to exclude all animal ingredients and air-fryers to eliminate the need for using oil.
What’s more, you can also bake them under low temperatures to achieve that crispness you always desire in a vegan onion ring.
Are Onion Rings Found In Restaurants Vegan?
You may or may not find onion rings in restaurants vegan. In some restaurants, they use eggs and buttermilk to make the dough, conferring the rings with their crispiness. Alternatively, they can deep dry them in animal fat, instead of vegetable oil.
Are Burger King Onion Rings Vegan?
The recipes in restaurants vary, and Burger King onion rings aren’t vegan. They use eggless batter, but use a milk derivative such as whey protein, which is dairy-derived.
- Sugar, salt and water
- Dehydrated onions
- Bleached white flour
- Yellow corn flour
- Vegetable gums
- Dextrose, fructose
- Garlic powder
- Sodium Alginate
- Sunflower oil
- Natural flavors
- Although Burger King onion rings aren’t vegan, there are commercial vegan onion rings like:
- Kineret Onion Rings
- Ore-Ida Onion Ringers
Typically, onion rings can be both vegan and non-vegan. The restaurant you are visiting and the ingredients used to bake or deep-fry your onion rings are the determining factors.
Although eggs and buttermilk are essential in achieving the noticeable crispy texture that many people prefer, it is also possible to bake them and still achieve top-notch results- the vegan way.