Are Bagels Vegan? This is a question that I am often asked by my friends who are vegan and have made the decision to avoid all things animal-related. And I think it’s a great question.
Are Bagels considered to be a Vegan food? This seems like a legitimate question, however the answer has proven to be a topic of debate for some people mainly because of the fact that not every single type of Bagel contains the same ingredients.
Bagels are delicious, and most people have them every morning. But you can’t have them if they are made with some sort of animal product. So, the question is, what is in bagels that make them animal-related?
While it might seem like a silly question, the answer is a little more complicated than you might think. If you’re confused about if bagels are vegan, don’t worry, you’re not alone! Luckily, we’ve rounded up the most commonly asked questions about bagels and their ingredients, as well as what to look for when you’re buying them.
For example, a basic Bagel is made from ingredients such as flour, water, yeast, sugar, salt, and occaisionally, vegetable shortening. So, technically speaking, basic Bagels that are made from these ingredients are generally considered to be Vegan.
There are other types of Bagels that use ingredients such as eggs, milk, and occaisonally, Honey. These would not be considered Vegan Bagles.
Which types of Bagels are considered to be Vegan?
The best way to know if a Bagel is Vegan or not is to check the ingredients before purchasing them. Below I will list just a few examples of Bagels that are considered to be Vegan/Companies that sell Vegan Bagels:
- Thomas Bagel.
- Thomas Bagel Thins.
- Thomas Bagel Minis.
- Manna Organics.
- Nature’s Own.
- Simply Nature.
Keep in mind that I have only listed a few different products and companies. There are many more available as well.
What should you know?
As I mentioned before, the best thing to do when trying to determine whether or not a Bagel (or any product for that matter) is Vegan or not is to read the ingredients. If you see any ingredients on the packaging that would not be considered Vegan ingredients, then it would be safe to say that the product is not Vegan. Below I will list some of the ingredients that you may find in a product that is NOT Vegan:
- Eggs (Including egg whites or egg wash).
- Milk Powder.
- Sodium Caseinate.
Note: These are only a few Non-Vegan Ingredients. Also note: Some if these ingredients could be plant based, however there is no guarantee of that, so generally speaking, if you are looking for Vegan products, you should avoid these ingredients.
There are a lot of different things that you need to consider when looking to buy Vegan Bagels (or other Vegan products), but most of it simply revolves around wha the ingredients are in the products.
If you are new to the Vegan diet/life style, you should consider researching Vegan ingredients VS Non-Vegan ingredients in order to be sure that the Bagels (or other products) that you are purchasing are in fact Vegan products.
Aside from the ingredients, another important factor is where you are shopping for your Bagels or other products. Generally speaking, the best places to find Vegan Bagels and other Vegan products would more than likely be at either an Organic grocery center, or the Organic section of a grocery center, as these places are more likely to have what you are looking for.
Thank you for stopping by, and I hope that this article was of some use when answering your question “Are Bagels Vegan?” as well as explaining how to be sure if the Bagels that you are purchasing are Vegan or not.